Steering Committee

The Information Security Steering Committee consists of six voting members and additional associate members. The State Rectors’ Conference of the universities appoints two representatives for three years. For the non-university institutions, the LRK of the universities of education, the RKH and the presidium of the DHBW agree on two representatives for three years. The steering committee meets every 14 days and discusses current developments in IT security. It decides on projects and the service catalog of the core team. Two spokespersons of the information security steering committee represent the bwInfoSec federation externally.

Our Tasks

Strategic Alignment

The steering committee determines the thematic orientation and character of the services. In the course of this, it decides on the thematic focal points, which are then worked on by the core team. A central task of the steering committee is therefore to provide the core team with specifications. This is developed in an inclusive process on the basis of suggestions from the CISOs and CIOs, among others, and is regularly updated as required.

Staff Selection

The steering committee supports and advises on the selection of personnel for the core team.


The spokespersons of the Information Security Steering Committee maintain the Federation’s network and act as contact persons for the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts (MWK). They also establish contacts with companies, government security institutions and civil society actors.

Sprecher d. Steuerkreises
Prof. Dr. Vincent Heuveline
Universität Heidelberg
Sprecher d. Steuerkreises
Dr. Hans-Günther Schreiner
Hochschule Karlsruhe
Dr. Maximilian Hoecker
Universität Heidelberg
Dr. Tek-Seng The
PH Ludwigsburg
Willi Winkhardt
Jörn Beutner
Universität Stuttgart
Prof. Dr. Lutz-Peter Kurdelski
Duale Hochschule Baden-Württemberg Lörrach
Markus Opferkuch
PH Schwäbisch Gmünd
Dr. Bettina Buhlmann
Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg
Oliver Kohl-Frey
Universität Konstanz
Prof. Dr. Christoph Reich
Hochschule Furtwangen
Prof. Dr. Joachim Allemdinger
Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Umwelt Nürtingen-Geislingen
Prof. Dr. Peter Väterlein